WAA Board Update

Welcome New & Returning Board Members!
Wednesday, December 12, 2012

At the Annual Meeting of the Western Arts Alliance on September 8, 2012, the Western Arts Alliance membership elected Renae Williams Niles President, Beth Macmillan Vice President, Sandy Robertson to her first three-year term as a director, and reelected both Nancy Christensen and Jeremy Ganter to serve a second-three year term as directors. Soon afterwards, the board appointed Joyce Hinton as a director, to replace the vacancy on the board that resulted from the departure of Kevin Boyer from The Washington Center.

For the first time in Western Arts Alliance history, all of the association’s officers are all females:

Renae Williams Niles was elected President and will serve a two-year term through 2014. Renae has been on the WAA Board for the past eight years, and has held the positions of both Secretary/Treasurer and Vice President. She is Director of Programming at The Music Center in Los Angeles, California.

Beth Macmillan was elected Vice President to serve a two-year term through 2014. Beth had completed four years as a director on the WAA Board at the time of the 2012 election. She is Executive Director of Artown Festival in Reno, Nevada.

WAA welcomes new directors Sandy Robertson, an independent programmer based in Irvine, California, and Joyce Hinton, Co-Managing Director of the Chan Centre for the Performing Arts, and welcomes back returning directors Nancy Christensen, Managing Director of MCM Arts and Entertainment in Highland, New York, and Jeremy Ganter, Associate Executive Director/Director of Programming for the Mondavi Center at UC Davis.

At the WAA Board meeting in Century City, California, November 11 and 12, President Renae Williams Niles confirmed the following 2012-13 committee chairs:

Communications Committee
Stephen Seifert

Conference Committee
Beth Macmillan, Chair, & Cindy Hwang, Co-Chair

Showcase Subcommittee
Sandy Robertson

Finance Committee
Cory Baker

Development Subcommittee
John Haynes

Governance Committee
John Haynes

Membership Committee
Jeremy Ganter & Seth Malasky, Co-chairs

Awards Subcommittee
Nancy Christensen

Mentoring & NextGen Committee
Fiona Black & Nancy Christensen, Co-chairs

Professional Development
Eleanor Oldham

Executive Committee
As provided by WAA’s Bylaws, is chaired by President Renae Williams Niles, and includes Beth Macmillan, Vice President, Cory Baker, Secretary/Treasurer, John Haynes, Immediate Past President, and Seth Malasky, Director (elected by the board).