Webinar: Tax Withholding Requirements for Foreign Artists

Did you miss the in-conference session Making Artistic ₵ents VI: Getting on the same page with the IRS and CRA? Did you have tax related questions after Presenting 101? We've got you covered!

Join us this week for a free online webinar on Tax Withholding Requirements for Foreign Artists. Led by Robyn Guilliams of Goldstein & Guilliams PLLC in New York, this 90 minute session will cover issues on the IRS reporting requirements related to foreign artist payments.


Webinar Description

Despite the IRS’s enforcement of nonresident tax withholding requirements for the past decade, there is still much confusion regarding this complex topic.  When is withholding required?  Who qualifies as a nonresident?  How do I know if a valid exemption exists?  What are my IRS reporting requirements?  What if I’m required to withhold but I don’t?  This session will provide an overview of these and other important issues related to foreign artist payments.

Date: Thursday, November 12
Time: 1:00 - 2:30pm PT / 2:00 - 3:30pm MT / 3:00 - 4:30pm CT / 4:00 - 5:30pm ET


How to Join The Meeting on THURSDAY, November 12:

  • Please head to: http://westarts.adobeconnect.com/presenting101/
  • You will then see a dialog box that prompts you to “Join Audio Conference”. You have two options:
    • Dial-out: please enter the number for your direct line in the space provided, click “Join”, and answer your phone when it rings.
    • Using Computer: for use if you have a VOIP headset enabled.

Once you are connected, you will see your name in the Participants list on the right of the screen.

As we have a large group of participants, the meeting will be set to automatically mute participants. However, there is a Q&A Chat box on the bottom-right of the screen that you can use to ask questions and comment.

About Robyn Guilliams

Robyn is a partner in the New York-based law firm of Goldstein & Guilliams PLLC.  Her practice concentrates on advising clients in the performing arts field on issues involving contracts, copyrights and trademarks, employment, non-profit arts organization compliance, as well as tax issues relating to foreign artists.  Her professional career has included serving for 11 years as the Artistic Administrator for the National Symphony Orchestra.  She is a co-author of the popular weekly blog Law & Disorder: Performing Arts Division (at MusicalAmerica.com), and is the author of the tax section of Artists from Abroad (at artistsfromabroad.org).